Real Time


mobile phone text message

Image via Wikipedia

Real Time

Thirty seconds left on the microwave,

Time is getting short,

“Come on! Cook faster!” I shout,

But it does no good to exhort,

Immediate gratification is what I want,

The seconds pass by too slow,

There are things I could be doing,

Like texting someone I know,

I will eat while I’m standing,

I’m too impatient while I sit,

Three bites, two swallows, I’m done,

That’s lunch! I’m finally over it,

Now someone wants to chat,

Not talking by voice, but text,

Communicating real time,

I can’t wait to see what’s next,

Instant communication, not e-mail,

I don’t want to go that slow,

There are things I could be doing,

Like driving to the mall, you know,

Another message coming in,

“Come on, faster,” I urge,

Must be another good friend,

All the things from the past,

I simply don’t have time for,

They just couldn’t last,

So what will replace texting,

What will be the new supplant?

I think I know the answer,

It’ll be a microscopic implant,

My messages will be faster,

Everything will be in my head,

Words will be for sure real time,

And nothing will be left unsaid,

I don’t know if that’s bad or good,

To communicate in such a way,

It’s just that I want everything now,

Not then, or later, but real time today!

One response to “Real Time

  1. Looks like you are an expert in this field, you got some great points there, but you’ll want to add a facebook button to your blog. I just bookmarked this article, although I had to complete it manually. Simply my $.02 :)

    - Daniel

Leave a Reply

