Exclamation Point!


A yellow exclamation mark

Image via Wikipedia

Exclamation Point!

I didn’t ask to be like Job,

Whose life took a backward thrust,

Yet here I am with shredded heart,

Arising from the dust,

I’ve lost at love one more time,

But it will not hold me down,

Like a Phoenix I’ll spring into the world,

With a smile instead of a frown,

I’m alone but not alone,

For I believe in a higher power,

Hope is there to guide my way,

Each and every hour,

My arms are bare and empty,

I have no one to hold,

So I choose to embrace the world,

Before my heart turns cold,

This world sparkles despite my pain,

My senses are acutely aware,

I see the beauty in this world,

And feel God’s presence there,

I smile at the turns I’ve made,

And all the times I’ve slipped,

Love will thrive the rest of my way,

It’s still within my grip,

Every day is a bonus day,

Full of meaningful things to do,

Challenges spring up daily at me,

Head on I’ll tackle them anew,

I don’t want to end my life,

With a period at the end of my game,

As a poet I want much more flair,

An exclamation point should mark my name!

26 responses to “Exclamation Point!

  1. you know what true love is.

    • When you get that tingling, butterfly fluttering, can’t breathe, heart racing feeling, that’s romantic love. Real love is I want you by my side whatever is happening, solid footing, trusting, wanting the best for your partner, kind of love. If you’re lucky, you get a combination. That’s a special kind of love. May you have that special love for a lifetime kind of love, the kind that’s not just a memory.

  2. I just sent this post to a bunch of my friends as I agree with most of what you’re saying here and the way you’ve presented it is awesome.

  3. you have lovely spirits,
    keep smiling.

    • Life is challenging because I have so much to learn. But on this life journey I want to enjoy each precious moment.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  4. I like you attitude here. Something that I have found to always hold true…For every bad thing that has ever happened to me something better has always taken its place. It is a strange but true fact that everything comes in perfect measure.
    I will respond if you ever wish to email stuart646@gmail.com
    Peace be with you Dan. You’re a gem and don’t know it.

    • Life is always moving forward. Sometimes it’s three steps forward and two steps back, but still forward. I have had a lot of steps back but feel God has continually blessed me.Therefore each day I get up I say, “Thank God, I’m alive!” And then I see what I can do to make this world a better place.

  5. Happy deepawali! May light, happiness and wealth shower down on your world and stay.

    • Thank you.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  6. Thank you for the blessings of light, happiness, and wealth. May you also be blessed. Thank you for stopping by.

  7. wonderful way to express things… what’s really amazing is how u put it all in a poem… love you dan! Keep showering us all that grace of yours :)

    • Chinmay, If the poem is good, it’s inspired. If it’s not inspired, it’s just me. Thank you for your kind words. dan May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  8. “An exclamation point should mark my name!”
    That’s some line :)

    • I didn’t want to be a common period. As poets when we say something it should be with passion.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  9. This is a fine poem with a fine sentiment, Dan. I think that generativity is the hallmark of maturity. We go from embracing one to embracing the world. Well done. And, yes, carpe diem!

    • When I was young I thought I could conquer the world. Now I wait eagerly for the world to overpower me, one day at a time, and seize what opportunities arise. May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  10. Happy Wednesday…

    Thanks for the support all around.
    claim award for potluck week 10 via my 3rd entry.
    we have poets rally week 33 tomorrow.
    your participation is valued.

  11. I think I may need to request over use of exclamation points in my (future) obituary now. Hehe.

  12. I included a link to this post in my poem about resolutions and wacky rhymes. I hope you’ll come over to read it when you get some time. :)

    Rhyme Me a Smile

    • Two things, two things I say, Thank you for putting me in friends, Because that’s the very best way, And the second, (better than the first) Where is this New Year’s bash? Or is that just another verse? I read your resolution and your wacky rhyme, I guess that’s thing one and thing two, You’ve got the rhyming now, I’ve got the thyme.

  13. No matter what lies ahead or whatever difficulty our life is experiencing we have to stand strong and always be firm in all our dealings in life. Well done.

  14. ”I’m alone but not alone”…how beautiful! That’s the soul of your poem.

  15. Very inspiring attitude! I especially like the part about reaching out to the world. You send a hopeful message for others. That is a real contribution to the world!

    • Thanks. I gave up on pity parties long ago except for the occasional indulgence. I try to enjoy each day that comes my way, accepting all that has happened in my life as experiences that shaped who I am. No blame, just choices that lead down different paths.

Leave a Reply

